Titanic forum and community

modelling Titanic in 3D on blender and need some help

This discussion on "modelling Titanic in 3D on blender and need some help" is in the 3D Models section; this is my first time in this forum and English is not first language so ...

this is my first time in this forum and English is not first language
    so forgive me !

i' m a blender user which is used for modelling in 3D on PC

now i began working on modelling some aspect of the Titanic in 3D
    and i don't have all the info required to complete all the elements of this 3D model

first problem would be with the funnel

it would appear that these funnels had 3 functions
    1 - Smoke
    2 - fresh air going to the bottom of the boiler
    3 - and gthere is another one for ash i think!

are there a y good drawings showing let say front.side and top view
    so that i can reconstruct on blender this 3D model for the funnels form the boilers up to the outside funnel!

Note: i might not be able to model in 3D all aspects of this complicated and huge model
    but i will try to do as much as my PC allows me whithout being too sluggish!

thanks for any help

happy blendering

I like Blender.

There are lots of sources for really good plans -- the website of the Titanic Research & Modeling Association at titanic-model.com has some. There are a lot of small things on the deck that you might want to leave out, and just start with a model of the hull, decks and funnels. There's probably Blender-specific resources for Titanic out there, since it's a popular thing to model and a great way to learn a 3d app.

There's a lot to think about for materials too... you'll be able to use bump and shadow maps for rivets, the deck, and things like that. You could use transparency maps for the railings. You could UV unwrap the hull model and paint on the portholes.