Titanic forum and community

Matt's Britannic Model

This discussion on "Matt's Britannic Model" is in the Britannic section; Well, this was my first and only attempt at a model of Britannic. I know ...

Well, this was my first and only attempt at a model of Britannic. I know it's not great, but back when I built it I didn't have very many resources besides some black and white images. I wish I had known about TRMA before starting. The models there really put this one to shame. But what can I say? I'm a novice modeler. I had a great time doing it though, even if I did slice my finger open about 3 times making the parts for the conversion. Hope you enjoy!

Matt.

Last but not least...

View Image

Not having any very good quality images of Britannic at the time I built this, I had to take some liberties. I'm very aware that some stairwells are not in the correct spots and the colors are somewhat off. My next model (whenever I get time to build another one) will feature a number of corrections.

>> I know it's not great,<<

Don't sell yourself short. While it's obviously not a museum quality piece, it's still well done. The streaks of rust on the side are also a nice touch since the paint jobs on real ships just don't stay pristine for very long.

Keep it up!

Thank you, Mike.

I have future plans for a better model. For a while there I completely gave up on my Titanic modeling because of various personal reasons (anger management, or lack thereof being the major problem).

I'm picking up the pieces now and am drawing out plans for a much better Britannic. Keep in mind that when I first created this model I had no conversion sets available and I had no idea of the Titanic Modeling and Research website. With that asset, I should be able to creat something much more historically accurate in the future.

Thank you though very much for your compliments. They mean a lot.