About the new "rivet" theory

Robert Hauser

Aug 18, 2005
I just wondered what the general consensus amongst our more knowledgable ship people might be concerning a book that came out pretty recently, ("What Really sank the Titanic" or something like that) think it came out in 07 or 08 written by two metallurgists, one of whom was named Jennifer Hooper. The assertion is that the ship sank because: 1) they used the softer iron rivets in the bow section where they couldn't fit the hydraulic riveting machine in, 2) These iron rivets were of inferior quality because they were having trouble getting enough of the good ones blah blah. Later, there was a Discovery Chanel documentary in which they use a machine to test two mock ups of riveted seems and compared how much force it took to pull them apart, and not surprisingly, the iron rivets failed sooner than the steel. I'm no scientist, but I couldn't help but wonder if the comparison was even relevant. Yes, the iron rivets might have been weaker but it still doesn't answer the question "would it have made any difference anyway?" Even if the steel rivets were stronger, against the force of an iceberg collision they might have still broken no matter what they were made of. Did anyone out there see this book or watch that show?
Rob H.

Jul 9, 2000
Easley South Carolina
First, have you read the book?

I have.

Niether of the authors asserts that the Titanic sank because the rivets were softer. They do make the point that issues with the rivets may have been a factor in how quickly the ship foundered.

Getting rivets of good quality wasn't a problem for Harland And Wolff, however some of what was used came from stock known as Roll Three Best wrough iron because it was adaquate for the job and easier to use in the areas where they were driven.