Assistance Request WSL RMS Republic

John Hemmert

Oct 16, 2002
Hi all!

Just joined up, and wanted to say hello. I'm an amateur nautical researcher, and currently engaged in researching the wreck of White Star Line's "R.M.S. Republic" in 1909, (H&W Yard # 345, Reg No.#118043)and its ramifications related to the 1912 loss of the "R.M.S. Titanic".
Working on a "sinking sequence" right now, and in need of some deck plans. I already have the 1st class accommodation plans, the deck plans of "Republic" in her "Columbus" configuration, (Courtesy of the "Titanic Commutator")and her starboard rigging profile. Right now, I am looking for copies of her 2nd & 3rd class accommodation plans. I am more than happy to settle for photocopies, or even a good scan of them. I am also willing to pay for them. (Nothing's free, and I like to make sure people helping me get value received.) Payment can either be in cash, or in trade. Price negotiable.

please feel free to contact me with any questions you might have, or to let me know if you have either of these plans, or know someone who does.

Many thanks & best regards!
John.

Dec 8, 2000
Hello John,

Sorry this isn't pertinent to your study of SS Republic, but I did want to say how pleased I am to see you here. It's also good to know that you're making real progress on your project, too. Great stuff.

Hope all is going well in the real world for you and yours, and that you've the time to take part in discussions on the board. You'd certainly fit right in and find many kindred spirits.

See you round the traps (hopefully
happy.gif
)

Regards,
Fiona

John Hemmert

Oct 16, 2002
Hi Fiona!

Great to hear from you! (I tried posting a reply this morning, but I think I managed to mess it up...)
Hoping to get time to post more! All the overtime I've been pulling lately left me so short of time that I had to withdraw from most of the lists I belong to.
My research on "Republic" goes well. LOL! It's about all I've had time for.