Auguste Louis Coutin

Apr 27, 2011
Good morning everybody,

I'm a 19 year-old member of the "Association Française du Titanic".
I'm an university student at Chambéry, a lovely city in France.
Here was born on 1884 Auguste Coutin, Entreé Cook of the A la Carte Restaurant...

I'm actually searching informations about him.
I consulted the archives, and I found a thing or two about him and his family, from 1881 to 1912.

If you're in possession of a document dealing with Auguste Coutin, please let me know...

Many thanks for your time and your comprehension

Best wishes,

Franck

Bob Godfrey

Nov 22, 2002
UK
Hallo, Franck. Hopefully you will share the information you have, as you may be able to tell us more about Mr Coutin than we can tell you! Apart from the basic details in his biography page here at ET, I have only the record of a single payment by the Titanic Relief Fund for the support of his parents and his children. This amount was 130 pounds, which would be the equivalent today of around 8,000 pounds sterling or 12,000 Euro. Coutin was a widower. While onshore he had lodgings in Southampton, but it seems likely that his children remained in France with their grandparents. Any corrections or additional information would be appreciated.

Apr 27, 2011
Hi Bob,

Thank you very much for your interest.

Of course I will share the many informations I have. I'll up-date the biography soon.
I did'nt know the "stuff" about "the record of a single payment by the Titanic Relief Fund for the support of his parents and his children."

Yes, you're right, he was a widower. He may lost his wife, née Foret, a few months before the wreckage.
He also had two daughters, born in 1908 and 1910, I think so. Their names are written on the Coutin's memorial, at Charrière Neuve cemetary, next to Chambéry, France. I'm going to do some researches about them...
I took several photos of the grave yesterday, and I will add it to the biography.