Been itching to write my own screenplay

May 12, 2009
So, I've been itching to pen down a legitimate "Titanic" screenplay for the past few months. I remember as a kid, when my obsession with the ship was at its peak, I wrote dozens of TItanic scripts and they were all quite dreadful (They were all written circa 8 to 12 period of age.)

Well, I'm an experienced writer now and feel like writing another one, just for the hell of it, to "settle scores" with my earlier screenplays.

I've been wondering, would it be too dreadful to add a fictional subplot to the script? I know just about every "Titanic" film does it... But would it really be that much of a bad thing? Of course, I imagine my fictional lead to be a lot more bitter and less melodramatic than the infamous Jack and Rose pairing...

I've been thinking of maybe having a fictitious apprentice of, say Thomas Andrews, meeting up his social climber ex onboard. The female character would serve as a gateway to life on 1st Class, while the male one would run various ship errands and open to doors to life in 2nd, 3rd classes as well as the crew. Naturally, I don't intend to give anywhere near as much scene stealing focus to the fictional couple as the Cameron film.

Does that sound like a good concept? Or would everyone on here consider it a blasphemy adding anything remotely fictional to Thomas Andrews?

May 12, 2009
Would love to! Especially someone to help me polish up Edwardian and British slang...

DAMN! The chambermaid coal bunker shag sounds like an intriguing idea!

Arun Vajpey

Apr 21, 2009
>>>>> So, I've been itching to pen down a legitimate "Titanic" screenplay for the past few months. <<<<<<