Buried at sea

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina

Jan 19, 1998
I am new to this sight and apologize if this subject has already been covered. I was curious on the casualty lists, it states that some were buried at sea. Were some of the bodies not returned to the mainland upon recovery, or did the families have them buried later at sea? If the recovery ship personnel returned the bodies to the water, why did they do that?

D

Daniel Rosenshine.

Hi!

Yes this topic has been touched on, never mind. What I'll say is based on the message that has previously posted here.

The only bodies that were buried at sea were the ones that were very badly decomposed and beyond recognition and identification. When the families on land heard about this, there was an amazing outcry from the families.

Unidentifiable or not all bodies from then on were brought ashore. All bodies that were identified or features were recognisable were brought ashore.

As I said before, only the unreconisble and badly decomposed bodies were originally burried at sea.

Tina

Jan 19, 1998
How long were they finding bodies? And wouldn't the cold temperatures have preserved them?

Chris Dohany

Dec 12, 1999
The last known Titanic body was found on June 8 by a passing German steamer. The body, identified as steward W.F. Cheverton from his effects, was picked up but later buried at sea. Though the water was cold, it was not enough to stave off decomposition, the sun beating down upon the bodies also took it's toll.
Chris

Dec 12, 1999