Charles Victor Groves

Julian Atkins

Sep 23, 2017
South Wales UK
My aged Uncle Jim is a Senior Mason, and I asked him earlier this year to find out anything about Charles Victor Groves. He has so far drawn a blank, as needs Groves' lodge number and lodge. I had already mentioned to my Uncle Jim that Groves lived in Ispwich for quite a few years when he retired till his death., but apparently there is no longer any lodge in Ipswich.

Uncle Jim suggested tonight on the 'phone that Groves may have been a member of a ship's lodge, rather than a location. I had not considered this, though I ought to have done, as the late Jack Pryor who taught me Church bellringing when I was a University student was a member of a bellringing lodge, as opposed to a lodge based on a location.

A year or so ago Harland could not find any obituary for Groves when he had access to the newspaper archive, so far as I recall.

So, I suppose my question is twofold; has anyone else found an obituary for Groves, and can anyone give any leads as to which ships he was an officer with? There is scant information so far as I can ascertain other than his WW1 submarine, and The Californian.

Cheers,

Julian

Rob Lawes

Jun 13, 2012
England
Hi Julian.

I've just had a very quick look but I've found a copy of Groves RN service document. Though it's heavily watermarked I could make out that he served on Submarine HMS E17 which was scuttled off the coast of Holland and the crew interned in the Netherlands in 1916. He was eventually allowed to return home and if I have read it correctly was subsequently demobilised in 1919.

The Service Docs will list his address on joining and other service information. I will obtain a full copy tomorrow and see if I can gather any more useful information.

I will also see if I can find any other information.

Seumas

Mar 25, 2019
Glasgow, Scotland
On the freemasonry angle ....