Connecticut Connection

Jul 14, 2002
Hi All,
I am a college student in Fairfield, CT, and was wondering if there were any Titanic related sites in the area that I could visit? Thanks, Eric

Mike Herbold

Feb 13, 2001
Eric:
Go to the home page and type in Connecticut in the search box in the upper right hand corner. You'll find enough references to keep you busy for a week or so.
Happy hunting.

John Clifford

Nov 12, 2000
According to "Titanic Memorials World-Wide", published by Brian Ticehurst, there are four gravesites in the following southwest Connecticut towns:
1. Greenwich, CT: Mrs Edith Graham is buried at Putnam Cemetery;
2. Milford, CT: Miss Sarah Roth is buried at Kings Highway Cemetery; and,
3. Stamford, CT: Frederick Maxfield Hoyt, and his wife, Jane Ann Hoyt, are buried at Putnam Cemetery. There is also a mention of William Hoyt, at Frederick's grave.

I have noted that these towns are in the same part of the state, as Fairfield. However, you'll need to check the addresses of the cemeteries, and their locations, in proximity to local rail services.

Another Connecticut site is in Harford: At Cedar Hill Cemetery, Ricahrd L. Beckwith's grave, is located here, and the ashes of his wife, Sally Beckwith, were scattered at the cemetery.

I also remember doing a "State By State" listing, for the American passengers, and there were a good number of passengers whose residences were in Connecticut. I'll presume that many of them were First-Class passengers from places such as Greenwich.

You can check the Passenger lists from Eaton & Haas' "Titanic: Triumph & Tragedy".

John Clifford

Sep 2, 2009
Hello:

After an long illness and getting caught up at work, I am back.

If memory serves me right, you will also find J.P. Morgan buried in the Cedar Hill Cemetary in Hartford also.

P.S. Samuel Colt is buried there also.

As I live in the Springfield / Hartford Area in need to find time to get to this cemetary someday.

Apr 16, 2001