Depictions of the Deceased before James Camerons Titanic

Sep 14, 2009
Hello all. I am a college student doing a research paper on why there were no depictions, or if there were depictions, of the deceased before James Cameron's film of the Titanic. I was hoping for any information or anyplace I can find information on this. Thank you! :]

Dec 2, 2000
Easley South Carolina
I'm not quite sure I get what you're driving at either. If you're wondering why there were no portrayals of the dead in the water, especially graphic portrayals, it may well have been considered a bit more then would be acceptable to the sensibilities of the audiance at the time.

More likely...in my opinion...it never fit into the way a given producer or writer wanted to present the story, so they just didn't go there.

Sep 14, 2009
Thank you.
Yes this does help.
But as to what I am getting at, my paper is about depictions of the deceased. Wether it be movie, paintings or anything. We had been reading in class a book with a lot of images in it and I started to notice there were none of the people in the water dying. There were many looking from the lifeboats at the Titanic as it sank, and some even looking from the Titanic at the lifeboats. I was curious so I continued to look and there seems to be none. This then came to be the topic for my paper. I hope that explains it better.
Let me know :]

Bob Godfrey

Nov 22, 2002
UK