Did Henry Price Hodges supply the pianos

S

Sue Rowbotham

Hello I am new to this bulletin board so forgive me if this has been posted to the wrong place.

My grandfather, Victor BAINBRIDGE, an apprentice piano tuner and french polisher, helped to tune the seven pianos aboard R.M.S. TITANIC whilst she was moored in Southampton in 1912. According to family legend he was invited to sail with her on her ill-fated maiden voyage, but luckily for him and for his future family (including myself of course) his mother said that he was too young, and refused to let him go.

I understand that a local company supplied the seven pianos that were aboard - does anyone here know the name of the company?  I know that Mr. HENRY PRICE HODGES, aged 50, a musical instrument vendor from Highfield Lane, Southampton, was a second class passenger aboard the vessel and was on his way to see his brother in New York. Sadly he died in the disaster. Henry is said to have been '... the owner of the biggest music shop and piano warehouse in Southampton.' Did the pianos come from Henry's company?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in anticipation

Sue

Dave Gittins

Mar 16, 2000
You are in the right spot, Sue.

Titanic Voices mentions Mr Hodges but does not hint that he supplied pianos to the ship. I would have thought that White Star would get them from the makers. Hodges' main shop was at 117 Above Bar and he had other branches. After his death the business was sold for £1,000 to a Mr Dean.

Hodges used to advertise in The Southampton Pictorial and this might say if he supplied the ship, as naturally he would be proud to do so.

Try writing to

City Heritage
Civic Centre
Southampton
SO14 7LP
United Kingdom

Mike Herbold

Dec 13, 1999
Sue:
What an interesting background.
Dave: