Do you tend to correct the film as you watch it too

J

Jaime Croft

Obviously, I am like many of us here whose families "tolerate" our interest in Titanic. They think it funny that I have watched this film - and all my other DVD's that Santa was so kind to deliver this year - over and over. What I think drives them nuts at the moment is my running commentary during the film. It usually consists of my "yelling out" corrections at the TV:

"...but we all called her Molly..."
Me - "No you didn't!"

"...helloooo...is there anyone alive out there..."
Me - "Yes...and the what the heck are you echoing off of????"

Fun for me, but I am sure pretty darn annoying for them. I am no expert by any means, but it is fun to point the mistakes out...

Anyone else do this as well?

Mark Draper

Nov 9, 2004
The potrayal of the confrontation between Molly brown and Quartermaster Rowe was reversed in the movie. WTF? put it back the way the exchange between them went. That was easiest to spot in the movie.

Jun 12, 2004
Yeah, I plead guilty from time to time, too. Take the 1st-class dinner scene, for example. Among other considerations, Ismay did not sit at the middle table, nor did Gracie or Guggenheim; they each had different tables. Another instance, was showing many 1st-class women in the midst of drowning within the forward staircase (that is, if they all were 1st-class. They appeared like it to me). Only four 1st-class woman died that night: Strauss, Evans, Allison, and Isham. Another yet is the scene (albeit a clip) of the Strausses in their bed as their cabin filled with water... There are many instances, but those are just a few. The thing is this: We have to remember that it was just a movie; we can't take it seriously. Although research had been done for the sake of realism, certain dramatic liberties were taken to ensure a captivating depiction.

Still, the inaccuracies have been discussed here time and time again. I'm sure that there might even be a few still missed...