Elizabeth Cutler

Status
Not open for further replies.
E

elizabeth cutler

Hi everyone i am new to this message board business even new to computers. Now my claim to fame is that i am the niece of Robert Hichens quartermaster at wheel when the ship struck the ice. I have learnt many things about the past from this site .I have found a grand daughter of Robert Hichens living in Southampton i think that makes her my 2nd. cousin. Her mother was the daughter of Robert Hichens. My father was the brother of Robert Hichens. Wondering if there is any descendents of other crew members out there. ELIZABETH CUTLER (nee Hichens}

Mar 10, 1998
Hi Elizabeth,
I'll answer your e-mail to me privately. Thanks for getting in touch. I've done extensive research on Robert Hichens over the past 18 months and am in contact with most of his descendants. The granddaughter you mentioned in Southampton is a delightful lady and we enjoyed meeting her and her family at last year's British Titanic Convention in Southampton. All the Hichens children are dead (though no one is sure what became of the oldest daughter)--but there are 10 grandchildren living and one daughter-in-law still survives. Through contact with most of the descendants, I've put together a fairly good mosaic of Robert's later life and even located a couple of good later life photos of him and one of his wife. I'm in the process to writing an article on him which I hope the Atlantic Daily Bulletin will see fit to print next year. Good to be in touch with you.

Regards,
Phillip Gowan

E

elizabeth cutler