Famed antr author walter lord dead at 84

Apr 14, 2001
it is my sad duty to inform the members of this board that antr author walter lord is dead at the age of 84 after a long illness he died this past sunday at his home in manhattan and i just want to say how sorry i am to hear about the death of this famous author and i hope that he rests in peace jennifer mueller

S

Sean Casey

God Bless Walter Lord for providing the book that ignighted my interest in the Titanic when I was only 10 years old. I've been studying her for over 20 years, and his insight will be missed. Requisat en pace.............

Alan Hustak

Jul 25, 2007
now the truth can be told... he never much liked ANTR, and thought he had written better books. He was extremely kind to me when I was writing my own book, and I treasurer the notes of encouragment he sent me.

May 5, 2001
That sure is funny, he never mentioned in ANY interview he ever did that I saw that he didn't like ANTR....

It was good enough to be a best seller....

Kate,
I doubt he can explain it...Hello BTW...;)

Regards,
Bill

Sep 20, 2000
I have to suspect that, if Walter Lord had any displeasure towards "A Night to Remember", it might only be because he felt he couldn't do it the justice he really wanted. (Of course, I think he did an exceptional work!)

But perhaps his underlying sense of humility -- a pretty rare commodity, admittedly -- left him wishing there were something more he could say to bring that story home as vibrantly as he himself felt it.

Just my two cents.

John

N

Nathan Lee Casteel

I would like to offer my sympathies to Walter's Lord's family he has done a-lot of Research on the Titanic. He has a really great book "A Night To Remember" and Peace to all that is on this Titanic message board.

Rest In Peace Walter Lord

Best Regards,

Nathan.

May 5, 2001
Dear All,

Now the truth can be told....and this should come as no surprise to anyone who had any respect for Walter Lord...