First Class Dining Room

Nick Lavenice

Feb 22, 2004
I have been researching the first Class Dining Room on D deck and was having trouble finding information about the windows. I was wondering if anyone knew the dimensions of the windows and how far above the floor they were placed. I believe the grand staircase windows were 5 feet tall but I'm not sure if it would be the same in the Dining Room.

Nick

Oct 22, 2008
I'm no expert, but if you go to this url: http://jenandwes.slaughterfamily.com/images/Titanic%20Pics/titanic%20dining%20room.JPG , which shows a set image of the dining saloon, you can kind of estimate it slightly. The walls look to be about eight feet, making the winodws roughly 3 ft by 2 ft. As per the grandstaircase windows, that I'm not to sure of either. If you look at some photos of people standing near the windows outside, you can again make an estimate as to what their dimentions were. Hope this helps, but again, I'm not 100% positive.

Jason D. Tiller

Dec 3, 2000
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Hello Anthony,

Please be advised that Nick Lavenice has not accessed the board in almost 6 months. Therefore, he may not see your message.

You can access member's profiles, by clicking on their name.

Oct 22, 2008
thanks for that Jason, I'm new and I think everybody can tell. Do you know by any chance where I can find information on the remains of the reception room and dining room on D Deck, there's not too much about it?

Jason D. Tiller

Dec 3, 2000
Niagara Falls, Ontario
You're welcome, Anthony. What are you looking for on the reception room and dining room? If it's video footage you want, then I recommend getting your hands on a copy of the Ghosts of the Abyss DVD directed by James Cameron. That area was explored during the 2001 expedition to the wreck.

Oct 22, 2008