Floating on matresses

Damon Hill

Jun 13, 2004
Dragging mattreses up from the cabins up to the boat deck would have been a job and a half and would have taken ages, and i doubt they would support a persons weight, especially as they would start to become water-logged as soon as they hit the water.....I'm no bedding expert mind you. I don't recall anyone ever mentioning mattresses as having bobbed to the surface as debris after she went down, I could be wrong though. I know that the remains of some "Orex" spring mattreses have been spotted in the debris field. Someone once mentioned something about using mattresses to stuff in the holes made by the iceberg though! Gives a new meaning to the term waterbed.

Dec 2, 2000
Easley South Carolina
Kyle, I'm inclined to agree with Damon on this one. Not that this might not have been a workable plan on some level, but as the mattresses would have become thoroughly and completely waterlogged and would barely support even a single persons weight, this is the sort of thing that would have been helpful only in much warmer waters.

Jan 28, 2003
Getting wet was the real killer, wasn't it? Apart from a very few extraordinarily tough people like Col. Gracie, Rosa Abbott etc. Even if they had thrown makeshift rafts overboard, like 1st and 2nd class wardrobe doors, tables etc., I can't see how anyone could have got to them without getting wet. Not that it might not have been worth trying, and I'm sure that with a bit of organisation, quite a few wardrobe doors etc. could have been ripped off and thrown over the side. But the habits of normal times die hard, don't they, and they seemed more concerned with locking bedroom doors for security at the beginning. It would also have caused panic to see men throwing the furniture into the sea early on in the emergency, so I doubt it would have been a solution favoured by the officers. I don't think anything would have saved more lives really, except more boats and electric davits.