Gavin Murphy

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

Gavin Murphy

Hello everybody. My name is Gavin Murphy and I live in Canada. I hope I have it right this time. If my good mate Geoff Whitfield can do it, so can I. I have been meaning to get involved for ages, so here I am at long last.

I have been a liner enthusiast for about 4 decades. I was on an earlier Titanic chat site about 5 years ago and enjoyed it v. much. Remember George B? In real life I am a lawyer. Yes, there is more to life than liners.......I think?!?!?!

I have recently had published, as a fundraising initiative of the Nepean Museum here in Ottawa, Canada, a 22 page booklet on Titanic victim Charles Melville Hays. It features many rare and never before seen pics. I have been a student of Hays for years. More details on this project can be found on the museum website at www.nepeanmuseum.on.ca Also a 1992 potted version of the paper is on that site, as well as a recent paper of mine on the Empress of Ireland. There are links to this site from the Irish Titanic Historical Society. (Thanx Noel.) The Empress paper features a never before seen photo of the ship, a world exclusive, etc. It comes from a glass plate negative a friend of mine owns. Remember David Z we talked about that in Montreal?

I have given Titanic presentations in Canada, USA, UK and Ukraine. Many of these initiatives have been successful fundraising ventures. But yes, Donetsk, Ukraine. Funny, the next day in Kiev, Ukraine, I saw on the wall of a pub the Titanic's wheel. Geoff, do you reckon it is the real one?

Glad to be aboard, etc. Regards.

George Behe

Dec 11, 1999
Nice to see you here, Gavin -- it's been ages! I hope all is well with you and your family.

Take care, old chap. :)

All my best,

George

G

Gavin Murphy

Thanx George, great to be back in the fold as it were. I trust all is well with you and thank you for your kind comments.