Going Down with the Ship

Kammy Tribus

Aug 6, 2006
I am curious what others think about the prospect of going down with the ship. The captain of the Titanic was incredibly brave, IMO, even if he felt he had no choice.

Personally, I think I'd prefer to jump and then swim like hell! Many years ago, when I was working under my own captain's license, I thought about this a lot. Let me explain that I only ran small passenger vessels, those under 100 tons and in my case, only carried 150 passengers. We worked inside Boston Harbor so the odds of a great maritime disaster were quite remote!

I also worked as a mate on some whale watch vessels and we ventured out a bit father, at times in questionable conditions, and in very cold water. As a captain, and as a mate, there is no way I'd care to go down with my ship!

I would do everything and anything I could to care for my passengers first. I would see that all of them were off. Still, I would hope I have the time to get off myself. I would far prefer to face the wrath of the Coast Guard than I would to face a death by drowning and a watery grave.

Now that I have said my piece, I'd like to hear how others feel. Whether you are working as a professional, own your own boat, or are an armchair sailor, do you think you could go down with the ship?

Call me curious!

Kammy

Aug 15, 2005
Darwen, United Kingdom
We worked inside Boston Harbor so the odds of a great maritime disaster were quite remote!

Oh, I don't know - crates of tea can start wars, you know!
I'm not sure what I'd do to be quite honest. My granddad found himself in the predicament thrice (though he wasn't a captain), and he managed to survive each time. Then again, he was a coward.
I'd wait until the last, I suppose. I'm a bit old fashioned, so even as a passenger on a cruise liner, I'd put the women and children before myself.
Still, you never know until it happens.

Dec 4, 2000