Great New Children's Book Story of the Titanic by Steve Noon

Nov 12, 2000
The Book: Story of the Titanic by Steve Noon.

If you are in to spectacularly illustrated books, you need to check this one out. Noon is one of the best illustrators to come along in quite a while.

Story of the Titanic is a slender, but oversized 11 by 14 volume. Through out most of the book every two pages open out to a great double page painting; thats 11 by 28! These illustrations tell the story with wonderful cutaway drawings of the interior of the ship.

Now I am no expert, so I can't say if these drawings are as accurate as something Ken Marschall would do, but to my untrained eye, everything looked pretty accurate. There is so much going on in each painting, you can just let your eyes wander over the pages, catching some neat little highlight again and again.

I have always been a sucker for ship blueprints and cutaways. If you enjoy them too, you really need to see this one. It is available on-line at all the usual suspects.

best, Michael (TheManInBlack) T

Joshua Gulch

Mar 31, 2001
Here's the book at Amazon.com: The Story of the Titanic

Judging from the cover illustration, while lavish and picturesque, the ship's riding just slightly low in the water, and seems to have some minor misproportions. Otherwise, looks good! (Correct #1 hatch, I might add!)

Josh.

Jason D. Tiller

Dec 3, 2000
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Thanks Michael and Josh!

Best regards,

Jason
happy.gif

Dec 7, 2000
I was planning for weeks to start this thread on this book but never got the chance. Now that someone else has started it, its easier to add
happy.gif