Hats at Dinner

Keri Smith

Sep 26, 2015
USA
Hello all! I am curious about dinner attire. From my understanding, it was customary for men to wear hats and gloves most of the time during this period, removing gloves to eat. Would most of the men at dinner in First Class be wearing hats? In the scene in Titanic (1997), there isn't a hat in sight. I know that movie is far from being perfect, but I haven't seen anyone comment if this is yet another inaccurate depiction.

Another thing: if hats were worn and removed, where would they be kept during dinner? I read somewhere that the third class dining saloon had hooks along the walls for coats and hats, but I've never heard mention of anything similar for first class.

I'm new to all of this, so your time and patience are greatly appreciated.

B-rad

Jul 1, 2015
Tacoma, WA
Hats would be removed while entering any enclosed space, just like one usually does in the military. This usually applied to gloves and coats also, as they were considered outside wear. I don't know if coats were taken off once entering the ship, or until they got back to their cabins. I guess that depends on the chill of the ship. I do know that jackets were worn as passengers made their way to the boat deck to evacuate so maybe it also depended on circumstances.
Most passengers (at least in first class) would change into dinner outfits, so hats would be taken off and left in the cabins. Passengers did not have to go outside to reach the dinning hall, so there was no need to bring the hats along. I would assume this would apply to all planned meals, as the passengers would know the meal times.

Bob Godfrey

Nov 22, 2002
UK