Heather Perkins was Strange intro

• Thread starter Heather Perkins
  • Start date

Status
Not open for further replies.
H

Heather Perkins

Okay, you may not believe this but....This is how I got introduced to the Titanic craz... I am a real estate agent in Baltimore and one day I was working at our front desk. One of our responsibilities is greeting customers that walk in and want info on the properties in the area. One day when I first started, a man walked in and ask for some info. about properties in the area. And for some reason, even though I had never met him before, I said,"Okay, Mr. Ismay, I'll pull that info. up for you and have it ready in about 20 minutes." Well obvioulsy this guy looked at me like I was a absolute nut( I just thought he was strange). So I pulled the info he wanted and left it at the desk for him. When he came to pick it up he said thank you and went on to say that his name wasn't "Ismay" and that he was only visiting for the day. His name was actually something completely different.

Anyway, I wouldn't have thought anything about it except for the fact that I NEVER get names wrong. I have an knack for knowing peoples name and numbers after the first meeting. I have since I was a child. So I was really put upon by the fact that I had gotten this guy's name wrong. In fact he had never even SAID his name. I just said it right away. End of story.

Anyway, I forgot about it. That is until a few years later when the whole Titanic thing was letting lose that I SAW a picture of Mr.Ismay. He looked identical to the man that I had met that day in my office.

You may say, "sure, you must have seen a picture somewhere, or heard his name" but as far as I can remember I hadn't. Ever. I didn't know word one about the whole thing until I had seen all the hype many years later.

Strange, huh?

Jul 9, 2000
Easley South Carolina