1. Welcome to Encyclopedia Titanica
    or subscribe for unlimited access to ET! You can also login with , or !
    Dismiss Notice

Hello from Nice, France

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Charlie Lecach, Jan 17, 2019.

1. Hello to you all,
    Just a few words to introduce myself : I'm a French automotive journalist and also motorcycle historian. But as I've been writing such articles for almost 30 years, my interest slightly faded away whereas my interest for ocean liners, their history and memorabilia has increased.
    I'm more into the Lusitania than into the Titanic history. Probably because I'm an avid collector and realized that it's easier to find authentic Lusitania memorabilia than original Titanic memorabilia, photos, postcards or literature. I was totally convinced when I managed to buy one of those famous Elgin watch cases salvaged from the Lusitania wreck by Oceaneering back in 1982.
    Anything salvaged from the Titanic is pure "unobtainium". And if you get deeply into the Lusitania history, it's as intresting as the Titanic history.
    But of course, I'm also fascinated by anything related to Titanic and have many books on the topic, since the first one I bought back in 1986.

Jack Raby likes this.
  2. Harland Duzen

Harland Duzen Member

Welcome to ET Charlie Lecach!

Charlie Lecach likes this.
  3. Yes. To echo Harland welcome to ET. I've been to your city. I liked it there. Everybody I ran into seemed pretty friendly and laid back. I can't say that for every town I visited in France. :)

4. SmileyGirl

SmileyGirl Guest

Hi Charlie, nice to meet you. I’m new too. I’m fascinated by Titanic but reading the threads on here, I realise I only know the basics, people have such an in-depth knowledge on here and Im learning new stuff with every post I read. There is also some cattiness on here which I find amusing also ;)

5. Welcome to you too SmileyGirl! Yes this is a very good site. I learn something new every time I come here.