Hello from Surrey, England

Apr 12, 2012
I've been interested in the Titanic since the mid 1970s when I watched A Night to Remember when I was around 11.
As a journalist and editor I recently published an article about night vision and those in the crow's nest. Before then I was a member
of the British Titanic Society and met survivor Edith Haisman (nee Brown) at a book signing in 1995. I attended the Royal Film Performance
of Titanic hoping it would match my favourite Titanic film, A Night to Remember but it certainly didn't! However, despite its huge faults,
time has softened my attitude to this hugely commercially successful and ambitous production, and I have warmed to its simplicity and lyrical last few scenes. Yesterday I attended an IMAX performance of the film at the BFI, but I will also attend a screening of the Rank film shortly to remind myself of the best film on the drama. I have also visited the Belfast dock long before it was developed, and, in 1997, the Jack Phillips Memorial Garden. Last year I attended the O2 exhibition twice, once for professional reasons.
I am currently enjoying ITV1's attempt to dramatise the story and will watch the final episode shortly.
I grew up in Merseyside, close to Titanic's home port, and now live in Surrey - please contact me to say hello, and share your stories of favourite people and moments from the world of Titanic.:)

Paul Lee

Aug 11, 2003
Good to see you here; I lived in Surrey for a number of years (Walton on Thames, then Surbiton, then New Malden and finally Woking) and have fond memories of the place. I heard about a Titanic exhibition in 2002 at the Godalming museum and arrived there a week too late to see it. What I did find was the Godalming show, and a load of drunken teenagers swigging cider in the Jack Phillips memorial cloister!