Job when leaving Southampton

Feb 28, 2007
I'm new to this so I hope I state my question clearly. I was wondering, while Titanic was leaving Southampton. I know that Murdoch, Pitman, and Boxhall were on the docking bridge. What I'm having trouble understanding is if Murdoch was on the docking bridge how was he in charge of the mooring lines? Also how was Boxhall passing telegraph orders down to the engine room? Was Lowe telling him what to do over the phone? I hope I stated my question clearly.

Thank you for your help
Justice

Dec 4, 2000
Let me try to explain in simplest terms. Titanic was built before intercom systems and walkie-talkies. The captain was nearly two football field lengths from the poop where the stern docking lines were located. Some manner of communications was needed.

The answer was something called a "docking telegraph." It looked just like an engine order telegraph (built of the same parts), but the sectors were labeled with line handling instructions and/or responses. An order to heave in, or to let go a line could be sent from the navigating bridge to the docking bridge almost instantaneously using the docking telegraph.

Officers were placed on the docking bridge to receive those orders and to insure they were promptly and correctly executed by the seaman actually handling the cables and capstans.

Given the quality of 1912 telephones, the docking telegraph was probably still the best way to pass the necessary information. Today, it's done with walkie-talkies, but the basic system remains the same. The captain gives orders to officers who oversee that they are carried out.

Another telegraph that looked like an engine order instrument was the steering telegraph. In the event that the telemotor system on the navigating bridge broke down, Titanic could be steered from the docking bridge. Steering orders would have been sent via telegraph from the navigating bridge and acknowledgements sent back.