John Collins

Arun Vajpey

Apr 21, 2009
I have been trying to gather important information on JOHN COLLINS, the 17-year old scullion on board the Titanic. As we know, Collins was one of the last survivors to leave the doomed ship. He later served in World War I. I would like info on his was record, particularly details of his internment as a POW in Germany. It appears that there he met a fellow allied prisoner named Woods who befriended him and with whom Collins discussed his Titanic experiences. I am trying to find out WHERE and for HOW LONG Collins was a POW and whether there is likely to be a list of other Allied/British POWs with him in the same camp. This info has an important follow-up.

H

Holly Peterson

Hi! I'm new to this thread and very interested in the children and teens of the Titanic, and I was wondering if anyone knew where to find a picture of the youngest Crew survivor, Mr. John Collins. I have a biography of him on my website, www.freewebs.com/titanic-children but cannot seem to find a picture of him around the age when he was on Titanic. Any help would be much appreciated! Thanks!

P.S. My name is Alzbeta, not Holly

Chris Dohany

Jan 8, 2001
A circa-1912 pic of Collins was published in Steven Cameron's book "Belfast's Own," that would be your best obtainable bet. Perhaps harder to locate is a group shot of Collins and other surviving stewards whilst returning to England aboard Celtic after the U.S. Inquiries. I know this photo ran in THS's "Titanic Commutator," but I'm not certain which issue. Additionally, a photo of Collins in his 20s is on his Merchant Mariner's card, which at one point was contained on a CD-ROM produced by the Public Records Office.

H

Holly Peterson