Kelly Beth V

• Thread starter Kelly Beth Vogelsong
  • Start date

K

Kelly Beth Vogelsong

Hi! My name is Kelly Beth. See ~ now this is hard. Figuring out what to tell you about me that won't frighten you or make you stop reading this (if you already haven't...and honestly, I probably would have).

I'm 23, married, living in Pennsylvania (and why I stay here is as much of an enigma to me as it is to you). I'm a Systems Analyst for Rite Aid, fixing computer related problems in their stores over the computer. It's actually more interesting than it sounds....and more frustrating.

I live a pretty lonely existence with a husband who is either always at work or at night school, studying to be a Microsoft engineer. My pets (3 cats, 2 birds, and a dog) keep me company, and I absolutely love each one of them to death. Two of my cats were strays, one was a kitten dropped at someone's door step; the other, hit by a car.

I give these pieces of my life to you because I don't have some wonderful, amazing story of how I have become obsessed with the Titanic. Mainly because, I can't remember a time when I haven't been obsessed with the Titanic.

But mine isn't an obsession that revolves soley around the ship itself. Every time I read a book or put together a Titanic puzzle; watch a television special or see some old newspaper clipping, I can't help but feel so much sorrow for all the people that lost their lives on that ship, and the way they lost it. And I especially get upset thinking of how torn the survivors were. Grateful that they were saved; lonely and depressed because their husbands, sons, daughters, mothers, sisters and brothers, etc., went down that night with the Titanic.

And to think that they were so close to so many of the people in the water and did nothing....afraid that they themselves might have become a statistic as well (if their boats had overcrowded and toppled).