Legacy of Eric Payne

• Thread starter Christina DeMohrenschildt
  • Start date

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

Christina DeMohrenschildt

As a newbie I just started reading some 2002 comments by Eric Payne. A Google search tells me he passed away in 2003.

Does anyone know how to find any of his writings that may have been published between hard covers? Is his stuff on any good web sites?

The name "William Seright" turns up in some posts about Mr. Payne's passing. Can he help us find Mr. Payne's research?

I am under the impression that Mr. Payne didn't suffer enterprising promoters like Robert Ballard gladly. Did that have to do with any religious convictions that Mr. Payne may have revealed? I'm the person who expressed interest yesterday about where Christian doctrine meets Titanic passengers and salvagers.

Thanks for putting up with a newbie. Sorry if I'm ruffling any feathers. If it would be better to drop the topic of Mr. Payne's legacy, can someone second that notion? Maybe the topic is okay. Any input?

Jul 9, 2000
Easley South Carolina
>>If it would be better to drop the topic of Mr. Payne's legacy, can someone second that notion?<<

Any of his research would be fair game for discussion and debate. Beware however that this particular name has a lot of baggage that comes with it. I hope you didn't open up too much of a can of worms here.

>>I am under the impression that Mr. Payne didn't suffer enterprising promoters like Robert Ballard gladly.<<

If true, he has a lot of company. I didn't know him, never exchanged a note with him, so I can't really speak to this. If you know of a website or sites where his work is published, it might help the discussion if you posted the URL so everyone knows what's at issue.

Mar 18, 2000
Eric Payne did not post here on ET (that I remember), his main hangout was the Titanic newsgroup.

I do recall William Seright did post a few times there, after Eric died.

Mar 20, 2000