Life Boats

Yourj Benig

Apr 27, 2012
Manila, Philippines
Are you a new fan of the TITANIC? well, I'm welcoming you. :D My answer was almost all of the lifeboats had a lot space when they left the ship. Lifeboat 11 was overloaded with 70 people but it could only occupy 65 people..

J Burdette

Dec 30, 2011
Like Yourj said, many of the boats were not filled to their capacity. This was, from what I've read of the US Inquiry, due to people unwilling to leave; that when there when no more women to fill some and there were still room for more they were lowered anyway; officers were afraid the boats would buckle when lowered with so many people aboard; the boats were to return and take on more people, but didn't (that is while the ship was still afloat). I think that all correct, but you better ask someone who knows for sure. I'm an amateur.

Jun 27, 2012
NAVI MUMBAI
Sir J Burdette and Yourj I would like to know you that according to the designer Mr. Thomas Andrews, the life boats had a capacity to carry at least 65 passengers in one life boat, but it had a capacity and it would not buckle when lowered with 60 or 65 passengers. i exactly don't know but when Mr. Andrews came to know that life boats are carrying only 20 to 25 passengers he told to the officer to fill more passengers but it was to late because many life boats were gone. if the life boats had filled full with passengers i think the number deaths would been very less.

J Burdette

Dec 30, 2011
It was certain officers' opinion the boats would buckle. Pitman's testimony during the British Inquiry:

15267. We have heard it stated by Mr. Lightoller that he lowered the boats because he thought there were enough people in them to lower with safety. Will you tell us what you consider is the weakest part of the tackle for lowering a boat? Is it the block or the falls or the shackles or what. We want to find out, because Mr. Lightoller said he was afraid of something giving way?
- I do not know.

The Commissioner: