Lowe Press & the US

Feb 9, 2008
Hello all! An ET newbie here : )

Of the various topics that one can cover concerning the Titanic tragedy, the lives and backgrounds of the Titanic's deck officers has intrigued me most. I have found Encyclopedia Titanica to be the most rewarding in obtaining such information and - having been catching up on my reading - I have developed a few questions that I was hoping someone could help me with.

I have actually spoken to Ms. Sheil through the Titanic-Titanic board and e-mail concerning Harold Lowe, her upcoming book and her recent article in Signals (which was fantastic by the way)... Perhaps you could help me out Inger?

First, I have read more than once of a particular incident in which the officers were signing a hotel guestbook after their arrival in the States. The story goes that when Lowe stepped "up to the plate" to sign his name, he became fairly annoyed with the press who rudely attempted to look over his shoulder and catch his name. As a result, he told them something along the lines of 'were they back in England, they'd get a good punch [in the face? nose?] for attempting to look at the guest book...' Did this actually happen?

Also, I was wondering if any of the surviving officers ever returned to the United States? I know that Lowe went on to spend a great deal of his career traveling routes to Australia and Africa and serving in the RNR. Seeing as he had somewhat of a rough time of it in the States immediately following the disaster (with the press, his retraction with the Italian Embassy, his exchanges with Smith throughout the hearings, etc...), I was curious as to whether he (and the other officers too) ever returned to the US whether for business or pleasure?

Thanks to everyone in advance for the help!

All the best, Tessa

Inger Sheil

Dec 3, 2000
Hallo Tessa - good to see you here!