Maritime Changes

Rachelle Rowe

Mar 21, 2008
Hey all. Sorry to probably bring up a topic that you have probably already covered not to mention know a lot more than I do. However, I am doing my masters thesis on the Titanic and similar maritime disasters and am having difficulty finding information and FACT about maritime changes that were instigated due to the sinking of the Titanic eg lifeboat policies, SOS etc. Can anyone in that vast land of web space help me or point me to the right direction. Appreciate it greatly.
Thanks Rachelle

Noel F. Jones

May 14, 2002
Rachael:

Three majors which spring to mind are the revising of BOT regulations relating to the provision of life saving apparatus, the Bulkhead Committee and the International Ice Patrol.

I'm sure a search on this site and elsewhere will elicit rich veins of information.

There may well have been a revising of radio-communication protocols as well. Possibly the auto-alarm technology arose out of the Titanic disaster, although I think this came much later.

Noel

Jason D. Tiller

Dec 3, 2000
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Hi Rachelle,

Another important one is the twenty four hour wireless watch. That's the only one I can think of at the moment though.

All the best on your thesis and let us know how it went!

Best regards,

Jason
happy.gif

Dennis Smith

Aug 24, 2002
Rachelle and Noel

Hi. While I was in college, in the early 70's, doing my R/O's ticket the guy who took us for Radio Regs was a 62 year old ex R/O. I asked specifically about the Auto Alarm being developed as a direct result of the Titanic and he confirmed it was. He was at sea as R/O in the mid to late 20's, so I would have thought he would have been in a position to know. From what he told me I gathered that it was the research and design that took so long due to WW1 so didn't get introduced until the 20's.

Jason,