Missing Passenger Samuel Harper

M

Michael Tymn

I am a freelance journalist and am writing a magazine article about William T. Stead. One of my references is "The Secret Conan Doyle Correspondences," by Leslie Vernet Harper, published in 1986. This book has a chapter in which Samuel Harper, said to be the prototype for Sherlock Holmes, describes his final moments on the Titanic and then tells of being rescued after being in the sea for an hour or so. The scene described by him appears to have inspired the scene in the 1997 movie, "Titanic," in which the two main characters hang on to the poop deck railing and ride the vessel down. The other person with him was Irene Corbett, of whom Harper was a chaperon.

In searching the passenger manifest, I cannot find Harper's name and a Google search yielded nothing on him. Apparently, Irene Corbett was not on the original manifest as White Star Lines initially denied any knowledge of her, but later admitted she was a victim.

The aforementioned book has an article written by May Futrelle, who clearly was a passenger along with her husband Jacques Futrelle, in which she says that she dined with Harper the evening before the disaster. Also, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle is said to have seen Harper off in Southhampton when the ship sailed.

Harper was supposedly exiled from England some years earlier because of suggesting that the Prince of Wales was somehow involved in the Jack the Ripper case. He was a detective of some kind then and, as mentioned above, is said to be Conan Doyle's model for Sherlock Holmes.