Mystery Cargo hold grid/barrier?

T.Johnson

Aug 21, 2016
Hello everyone,

Sorry if this is in the wrong place- I've tried to find somewhere to discuss wreck details, but this seems the most likely forum to get an answer.

I've been analyzing wreck footage for the past 8 months. I've never had a problem identifying a location or a piece of wreckage before. But I've found something that has definitely left me stumped.

In the documentary "Deep inside the Titanic", a grid is shown apparently separating the bunker hatch the third class passengers, whilst they were making their way down to the ORLOP deck. According to the documentary it is in the "recreation area", which I could only assume most likely fits the description of the open space of D deck.

There is also footage of the same area in 2012's "The final word", from a different angle.

I can't find anything that resembles this grid blocking an area from the bunker hatch anywhere, on any deck. Nor very closely with any of the other hatches either.

Please see the attached image below. I've sketched what I see and shown the video references with labels, as well as the proposal locations for this apparently unmarked grid/barrier

I've suggested it might be on C deck on hatch no.1 or randomly placed in the permanent 3rd class area on E deck, which could possibly called a "recreation area".

Thankyou for your time!
Happy rivet counting, I look forward to hearing from anyone.

MysteryGrid.png

Mar 18, 2008
Germany
If I remember right it has nothing to do with the 3rd class.
The bunker hatch (hatch No. 3) is trunked on G Deck and if my memory it not wrong it was on that deck.

T.Johnson

Aug 21, 2016
The bunker hatch (hatch No. 3) is trunked on G Deck and if my memory it not wrong it was on that deck.