New Exhibition Piece

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kyrila Scully

Apr 15, 2001
South Florida
I was just browsing at the RMSTI website and found an article about a Damask Pouch recovered in 2000 that belonged to Second Class Passenger Marion Ogden Meanwell, who did not survive. This pouch will be on display for the first time in the Salt Lake City, Utah, exhibit.

Now, correct me if I'm wrong, but I've been studying the passengers of Titanic for - well, since I was eight years old, and I've never heard of Marion Ogden Meanwell in relation to the Titanic. Checked my lists, and no such name. I have to wonder what's going on at RMSTI. Anyone with connections to the organization want to explain it to me? I'm open to learning something new.

Kyrila

Apr 27, 2003
Kyrila,
Mrs. Meanwell was a passenger and this is what I have for her:
Meanwell, Mrs. Marian nee Ogden. Missing. Milliner. Aged 63 years.
(From the Whitehaven News, of Thursday, May 2nd, 1912).
MILLOM'S CONNECTION WITH THE TITANIC DISASTER
THE widespread effects of the Titanic disaster is evidenced by the fact that Mrs. Beck of Cambridge Street, Millom, (Cumberland) had a relative aboard the ill-fated vessel.
Mrs. Meanwell, first cousin of Mrs. Beck, who was proceeding on the Titanic to join her daughter in America. She had often crossed the Atlantic previously, and according to a letter dispatched to Mrs. Beck from Queenstown, was delighted with the new gigantic vessel.
In her views, nothing approaching the accommodation had been experienced in any of the previous journeys, and nothing but a very pleasant voyage was anticipated.
There appears to be little hope that Mrs. Meanwell had escaped the fate which befell so many of the Titanic passengers, as her name does not appear, so far, amongst those who have been saved.
(From The Emergency and Relief booklet by the American Red Cross, 1913).