Notes for Future Filmmakers

Seumas

Mar 25, 2019
Glasgow, Scotland
Inevitably at some point in the next twenty, thirty or forty years, someone will have a bash at another film for either cinema or TV about the Titanic disaster.*

Let's hope it's someone who has a real passion for the whole darn story and the people involved. Someone who would find just the right balance. On one hand making a genuine effort to be historically accurate. And on the other hand meeting the commercial considerations that modern film-making requires.

In light of all the research done and discoveries made this century and at the end of last century, what do you believe that a future filmmaker who is committed to some degree of accuracy should include in his or her Titanic epic of the future ?

Being a hopeless amateur I'd be really keen to read what advice our resident experts Ioannis Georgiou, Dave Gittins, Sam Halpern & Bob Read respectively would have for the future James Cameron's of 2042 or 2052 ;)

This is what I'd like depicted or else in some instances not depicted

(I'm happy for any of this to be corrected by the professionals btw)
  • The near collision with the New York at Southampton.
  • With many people asleep at the time of the collision, the ship is not quite so ablaze with light as is often depicted..
  • A mild red glow at night on the promenade decks from the lanterns hung on the entrances to them.
  • The order “Full Astern” is never given.
  • No post-collision meeting on the bridge of all the deck officers.
  • The ship's list during the sinking.
  • Sockets being shown used for firing of the pyrotechnics as opposed to launching them from the deck like mere common fireworks as has previously been portrayed. Also, the results of their detonations being much brighter and louder than anything previously depicted.