One funnel Two funnel

Mike Poirier

Dec 31, 2004
Sifting over survivor accounts there seems to be controvesy over which funnel toppeled over. Number 1 or number 2. Although it is generally believed that the number one funnel did topple, there seems to be some evidence from fairly reliable accounts that the number two funnel did instead.
I was wondering for those who have also seen these accounts, what there take on the incident is.

Dec 2, 2000
I have seen renditions (no actual accounts) where the first funnel toppled due to the weight of the funnel against the guidewire causing the wires to snap and the funnel to topple, but that the second broke off from the force of the surface water against its base as the ship sank.

I am not an expert, and these are not the actual accounts, just renditions that I haev seen or heard of.
Hello Michael, hope you are well.
Maureen.

B

Ben Thomas Sebastian Holme

Dear Michael and Maureen,

In actual fact all four funnels fell, and descriptions of most have come down in survivors' accounts. Lightoller and the others working round collapsible B were splashed a safe distance from the ship by funnel 1. Funnel 2 narrowly missed Jack Thayer and Milton Long (see Michael Davie's book). Trimmer, Thomas Dillon described how funnel four fell towards the stern near him when the ship broke in halves.
Also, if you read the affidavit of Emily Ryerson she described how the two forward funnels toppled forward at the same time.
The forward funnel is the most discussed as a great deal of people in the vicinity survived.

Yours sincerely
Ben Holme

P.S I'm new here and I'm delighted there are so many others as mad about titanic as I am. I am sad enough to posess 20 titanic books and can give at least three facts about all first class passengers.

Mike Poirier

Dec 31, 2004
Hi Ben: