Passengers who spoke other languages

L

Lynda Franklin

I am studying german and was curious to know if any of the passengers or crew spoke another language ?

Inger Sheil

Dec 3, 2000
Harold Lowe spoke Welsh and a smattering of Russian.

James Moody could get by in Spanish. Don't know if 'fluent' would be the right phrase.

Dec 2, 2000
Easley South Carolina
Down in Third Class at least, you would have found passengers who spoke a virtual potpourrie of languages. They came quite literally from all over the map. When the crunch came, that may well have been the downfall for some since they wouldn't have been able to read or speak English.

Bob Godfrey

Nov 22, 2002
UK
On your last point, Mike, that was generally not the case. It's notable that the large contingent of English people in 3rd Class had a very low survival rate, whereas many non-English speaking groups like the Lebanese fared much better. Since the crew's instructions (in English) tended to be along the lines of "Wait down here for further orders" a lack of understanding might well have saved many lives.

Also many of the immigrants in 3rd Class were traveling in family or neighbourhood groups which included at least one English-speaker (often an established immigrant returning to the US from a visit back home) who could act as their spokesperson.

Lynda, aside from the staff of the A La Carte restaurant there weren't many crew members who were not native English-speakers, and in those days foreign languages were not part of the standard school curriculum. Those who had worked longest at sea would probably have picked up a smattering of words and phrases, but the steward's line in ANTR which goes something like "You get lifebelt, chop chop, savvy?" was probably a good indication of the best that many of them could do. Only one of the 3rd Class stewards was not British-born, and that was the interpreter, who was German.

Bob Godfrey

Nov 22, 2002
UK