Question Potted Plants aboard Titanic. (Plant list)

Tomosul

Jan 16, 2020
I have read many references to potted plants onboard Titanic and am excited. As a horticulturist I am wondering if there is a botanical plant list. This would be expecteded in the design and ordering process and would specify the Latin names and numbers of the plants. Can anyone help in this area? Many, many thanks. Thomas

Thomas Krom

Nov 22, 2017
Dear Thomas,

I am not an expert on plants to be quite honest but from the pictures taken on-board the Titanic and information I have I can might help you with it.

1579453348890.png

The first room which had plants in it which is documented is the starboard side Verandah and palm court taken in Southampton by reporters of “The Newspaper Illustrations LTD”. This is the only picture taken inside the Verandah and palm court (there is a picture of the chef cooks posing in front of the double doors of the port side Verandah café). Both rooms were fitted out in the Louis XVI style.

Both the starboard and port side had ivy and climbing plants on climbing up the green trelliswork panelling. In both rooms also palm trees could be found in a copper urn-shaped pot with an openwork design. These are most likely the potted plants you may wanted to see.

1579453358912.png

1579453365117.png

1579453374090.png