Preserve the wreck site by acquiring of RMS Titanic Inc

Dec 12, 1999
Many visitors to this site have expressed concern over the preservation of the wreck site. One way to perhaps ensure its preservation, is to acquire control of RMS Titanic, Inc. Its share symbol is SOST.OB. Currently, the stock trades at $2.313, which is up from a low of 1.25, and down from 4.25. Total shares outstanding are 16,187,128. Its office is in Battery Park, NY, and there are only six employees. Net income has drastically fallen, nearly 50%. So, now may be a good time to buy. RMS seems to have plenty of cash so, despite the drastic reduction in income, I don't see an immediate bankruptcy risk. Further, the investor's risk appears low because, by far, most of the company's assets are in the Titanic artifacts, which can only go up in value. Nonetheless, really cheap stocks are usually pretty risky investments. Obviously, I'm no expert nor do I have any broker's dealer's license so I suggest that any of you who are interested check out the Yahoo site, and the financial statements appearing there, and make an independent assessement. I like the idea of owning the Titanic, yet preserving it for posterity, as is. Any comments?

T

Tracey McIntire

Hi Joe,
In my last comment to you on the other discussion, I mentioned that perhaps James Cameron would be able to buy out RMS Titanic with his millions. Does anyone know if he is aware of this whole situation? I know he was very serious about preserving the wreck when he was filming down there. Don't you think he would like to give some money back to Titanic after all the acclaim it has brought him? Does anyone have any contact info for him--address, e-mail, etc.? What if we all sent him a letter asking him to buy out RMS Titanic? If he got a letter from each one of us I think that would be very persuasive. What does everyone think?

E

Elaine Barnes