PTO officer takes a Titanic stand

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

Beckey Payne

Well, my fellow PTO moms think I'm insane (NO comment!!!) but I could keep quiet no longer. Every year following our fall fundraiser we have the "Main Event", sort of a carnival thing to reward the students for a job well done. And every year this monstrosity of a blowup slide shows up at the event... The Titanic Adventure Slide! Have any of you SEEN this thing? It's a huge blowup of what appears to be Titanic's big rear poking up out of the water as she sinks. Kids climb up the middle on a rope ladder and then slide down the "deck".

Finally, this year as a PTO officer I felt I was in a position to take a stand. I officially requested that the slide NOT be included, and should it be included I will not be volunteering to work the event. It gives me the creeps just to look at it. Over 1500 people DIED and now it's a kiddie ride? What's wrong with this picture? Would they dream of having a Sept.11th Ground Zero Obstacle course? NO, I think not!

Beckey (who apologizes that this is probably a bit off key for the msg board, but really....)

Jason D. Tiller

Aug 20, 2000
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Hi Beckey,

I also agree, that slide is tacky. I saw it in the local newspaper here in Toronto a few years ago, and it made me sick!

Best regards,

Jason
happy.gif

Dave Gittins

Mar 16, 2000
I believe the affair in Australia was much more elaborate. It was owned by Fox-Warner (I think, not being a film fan). It was some kind of role playing adventure based on the movie and was evidently rather hair-raising. Cameron's fans would know more and it may still be on the Internet.

As to the slide, it's a matter of taste, as the old lady said when she kissed the cow.

B

Beckey Payne