Randy Bryan Bigham

Status
Not open for further replies.
Mar 20, 2000
Hi! Well, it's interesting to find out that 2 of the guys signing in on this new "Introduce Yourself" column-idea are from Texas, too! And if Phillip Gowan joins in, there'll be another Texan (though an uprooted one which sometimes doesn't count with die-hards "round these here parts"). And bless poor Phil Hind; he's the lone Brit so far!

Anyway, I feel kind of funny trying to describe myself. I often think when people start talking about themselves they end up sounding boring or pretentious and I'm afraid people will think I'm both!

First off, I'm 32 but I'm proud to say I still look (and friends tell me I still act) like a kid. I was born in Texas and though it seems I've lived everywhere in the interim, I'm back here again and - so long as I don't keel over from the heat wave we're having - I intend to stay a while this time.

As some of you might have guessed I work in the design field - presently as a writer and researcher. I studied art and costume history at the Fashion Institute of Technology in New York. I've contributed articles to "W," "People," "The Voice," and amazon.com (though lately only sporadically). I've served as consultant on exhibitions at the National Portrait Gallery (London)and the Musee Galleria (Paris)and worked as research assistant to author Raye Virginia Allen for her book "Gordon Conway: Fashioning a New Woman."

My current project as some of you may have figured out is a pictorial biography of the designer "Lucile," whom you all know better as Lady Duff Gordon. This has proved a major passion (that is to say obsession) over the last decade. Have any of you ever seen the movie "Somewhere in Time?" That's what I feel like sometimes about Lucile. The mss is now finished and is being agented in the UK.