RhodaRosa Hunt Abbott and her Two Boys Rossmore and Eugene Abbott

May 27, 2007
I wonder if Rhoda Abbott ever received any compensation from White Star line for the loss of her two sons, Rossmore 16 and Eugene 13. Did White Star even pay her hospital bills? Stanton Abbott, Rhoda's ex ever receive any money as well from White Star Line.

It just seems that what help she got was though her Church. If I was a lawyer back then I would make a killing for the neglect Mrs. Abbott received from White Star Line. Look out George is ranting and raving again. Actually I started this as a thread in Passenger Research because when I did a search all I found was the article by Robert Bracken on Mrs. Abbott and her and boys biography pages. So I thought why not start a thread and then anybody who's got any info or thoughts about the Abbotts can add it here.

Dave Gittins

Apr 11, 2001
If Rhoda Abbott filed a claim in the USA, she would have received peanuts, like everybody else. Forget about making a killing. The matter was governed by black-letter law.

She would have come up against the Harter Act, which limited White Star's liability. It's a bit much to go into here. Put crudely, to get full compensation, claimants had to prove that White Star's servants had been negligent, that White Star (read Bruce Ismay) knew of their negligence and connived at it.

The US cases went on for years and even the Supreme Court got involved. The matter was eventually settled out of court for a fraction of the amounts claimed and rubber-stamped by the court on 28 June 1916.

The total paid by White Star was $665,000, of which $550,000 went to the claimants and the rest to their lawyers.

Had she sued in Britain, she would have done better. British law was more generous and the amout claimable was much greater, though still limited.

The American records would show if Rhoda Abbott ever claimed, but I don't have the full list of claimants.

May 27, 2007