Sinage in the Reception Room

Nigel Bryant

Aug 1, 2010
Wellington, New Zealand
Hello everyone,

Has anyone noticed under the Brass letters that read D-Deck on the wall opposite the Grand Stairway of the Reception Room, there is some smaller writing also inscribed in brass. If nobody knows what I mean look in "Illustrated History" on pg 55. There is a photo of the Reception Room looking aft. You can clearly see the Brass letters that say "D-DECK" Under that you can just make out some very small writing. Cameron also had this detail in his Reception room set. You can see it on the tour option in "Titanic Explorer" CD-ROM. Does anyone know what this writing says. Is it directions to certain rooms onboard the ship?

Regards,

Nigel

Apr 22, 2012
Hello Nigel,

I'm not an expert on the subject of first class interiors (not the reception room at least), but perhaps it could be indicating where the first class lifts were located. I think in other photos I've saw similar signs, and they mention something about the lifts beneath them. I don't know, maybe I'm mistaking.

P.S.: How's that "Summary of the First Class Rooms on the Titanic" coming?

Cheers,
happy.gif

-B.W.

C

chris mcqueeny

I think that the text may have said "saloon deck". I know that most ships have another name besides the letter for the decks, and on most Titanic floorplans, D is Saloon Deck. How much text is there?

Nigel Bryant

Aug 1, 2010
Wellington, New Zealand
To Brandon,

My article is published on the net. It is at www.titanic-model.com.

It is on the main page and it is called " Nooks and Crannies of first-class onboard the R.M.S Titanic"

Phil will hopefully be publishing it here with conjunction with the deck plans on this site as well.

To Chris,

I have to look at my Titanic Explorer again. I think it was at least 9 lines or something. I will post both of you an image so you know what I am talking about. It's quite unnoticeable.

Regards,

Nigel

C

chris mcqueeny