So what do we think will happen to her really

Allen R. Hall

Jan 22, 2011
I'm no expert. I know the economy in the US is bad, but I don't know how it works, and I don't know if it's even relevant. But I do think this: regardless of what happens to her, scrap or refurbishing, something needs to be done now. Just think of the jobs that could be created.

Does anybody know if Obama's bill provides money for such a project?

Dec 2, 2000
Easley South Carolina
>>Does anybody know if Obama's bill provides money for such a project?<<

Don't know but unlikely. If it did, I would think that the group trying to save her would be crowing about it and the silence out there is a loud one. The sad reality is that when the times get tough, historical preservation tends to take it in the shorts.

James Carey

Sep 14, 2004
What I would like to see happen?

Have her as a static display somewhere. Repainted on the outside and businesses on the inside.

What I think will happen?

At a sale price of $20 million, for a empty shell of a former Ocean Liner, she is overpriced for anyone to buy her. If she still had her interiors, maybe she would have a chance, but not now. The global economy is horrible, and I see no one fronting the money to sink into her.

I would rather see her end up a a reef off the coast, where sport divers and fish could still enjoy her. Maybe even use her in a Hollywood movie about a disaster at sea, and have her sinking be part of the footage in the film.

I would think the US govt would want to avoid her going to the scrap yards to avoid the embarassing headlines about scrapping the United States, especially with the new administration spending money like it was going out of style.

But then, I am talking about the US Govt.

but I digress!

Dec 2, 2000
Easley South Carolina
>>But then, I am talking about the US Govt.<<