SSUS Modeling Info

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jul 12, 2005
Popular Mechanics has put PDF files of the five articles from 1952-1953 magazines on their website www.popularmechanics.com how to build a 3-foot model of the S. S. United States. I remember as a young boy buying all of the five issues to get the plans, but I never did build this model from scratch. I did build the Revell plastic model of the S. S. United States. Robert H. Gibbons

Joe Russo

Apr 10, 2006
I built the Revell plastic model too. I remember unlike my other ocean liner models, the SSUS was only to the waterline. This was around 1980. Was everything below the waterline still classified in 1980?
I also remember the model directions calling for the decks to be green.

BTW - I built a Revell model of the QE2 back then too and that one called for the hull to be a very dark navy blue.

Jul 9, 2000
Easley South Carolina
>>I built the Revell plastic model too.<<

As did I. I was a prodigious model builder as a young 'un.

>>Was everything below the waterline still classified in 1980?<<

If memory serves, it was. One has to wonder why since there was nothing all that remarkable about the plant itself. It was basically an aircraft carrier's plant around which an ocean liner was built. Not very economical, but fast!

Apr 8, 2008
>>Was everything below the waterline still classified in 1980?<<

>>I built the Revell model too<<

1. The U. S. Government would probably have kept the underwater information classified forever if it could have (no paranoia here!). one of the reasons for the United States speed was the use of lighter weight materials in her construction. I googled the ship and found an underwater cutaway at www.oceanlinermuseum.co.uk/index but I'm not positive of how old it is.