Steam Engine

Dec 29, 2000
Excuse my lack of knowledge, but I am a Newbie in Titanics Story. I am 30 years in age and during my hobbies I work as an beginners firemen for a railroad steam engine, so I got basic knowledge about stoking a boiler and maintaining the engines, as well as how steam engines opperate. During my workers time in a powerplant, I was also involved with typical steam turbines, so I gathered also here a kind of basic knowledge.

So does anybody knew how Titanics steam engines operated? I read everywere, that she's got a triple expansion steam engine with four cylinders and a low pressure steam turbine.
So triple expansion engines are commonly used ship engines: The steam comes from the boiler, will pass the main steam valve into the engine steam gear box. Now it will send by direction, time and amount into the high pressure cylinder. Passing out steam will be entering the compound box, from there into the mid-presure steam gear box and from there into the mid-pressure cylinder. Again the used steam passed out into the compound box, into the low pressure steam gear box into the low pressure cylinder and from there finaly into the condensator units, which will condese the used steam into best boilder feed water!
so as you can see: For a triple expansion only three cylinders are needed, because triple expansion means used the steam three times.
so for what reason Titanic got a four cylinders? Was the mid-pressure cylinder divied into two cylinders?