Styles of staterooms

Status
Not open for further replies.
R

Rolf Vonk

Hi there,

Is there anyone who can give me some information about the cabinstyles on board Titanic? I know the grand suite rooms are all decorated in authentic styles. The normal staterooms are decorated in the so called Baronial style. But does this also count for cabins in the forward parts of first class on A, B, and C deck? They seem to have another size and furniture.

Hope someone could give me more information

D

Daniel Rosenshine

Well here I am. I'm no expert though, but I do try to learn (as an aside, nice to have you 'aboard' again Charles).

All cabins forward on A deck, B deck, C deck, D deck and throughout E deck were the same style - that is the wall paneling was the same, just plain neat looking white walls. However the furniture throughout these decks and cabins varied. I've never really been able to find which cabins had which beds, but I know that the various cabins had wooden beds (as far as I know one style) and there were various styles of brass beds. All of these (above mentioned) cabins seem to have the same style of dressing tables, but there were (I think) two varieties of washbasins. The styles of chairs would have also varied (i.e. all cabins on A deck have a certain style and all on B deck have another style) same goes for the sofas.

B deck aft was fitted with suites, but the servants' cabins apparently had mahogany paneling (not the usual white walls).

Also there were a few décor suites on C deck, but unlike the Olympic where most of the period style cabins were on C deck, the Titanic had only a few period style suites on C deck. Most of the rest were furnished in the H & W Louis XV style, which was still quite nice and the rest (the more aft cabins on C deck) were again white paneling, although the bottom 1/3 of the wall was wooden, cabins A36 and A37 were also furnished in the same style.