The breakup in the BBC TItanic Mini-Series. Wow!

PedgeJameson

Feb 27, 2014
Who agrees that it was absolutely frightening?

1: More accurate.

2: They didn't make it some CGI cartoon looking fest. (Sorry James Cameron, nothing personal.)

3: The way they had it as a backdrop to the drama, which most people would have experienced in their peripheral vision but still trying to stay alive.

4: The dark skyline and the overall effect.

Adam Went

Apr 28, 2003
It's been a long time since i've watched the mini-series, so I don't actually remember the break-up sequence in that, but if it was anything like the rest of the film then it wouldn't have been much to write home about.

A Night To Remember still stands as the best Titanic film IMO, the only difference is that post-1985 films show the break up for obvious reasons!

Cheers,
Adam.

PedgeJameson

Feb 27, 2014
But accuracy besides the breakup? Absolutely. I am a video editor who has copies of both so I might just make the definitive collaborative film. Just have to add some film artifacting and such. :D

TitanicNerd

Jan 18, 2014
If you talking about Titanic: The Miniseries from 2012, I have some things to say about the break up. We can't even see it, so where they showed it breaking up and how they showed it sinking after the breakup is...unknown. Eh, who knows?

PedgeJameson

Feb 27, 2014
You can't see it? Ok it was supposed to be obscured, unlike Cameron's Muppet Show version. Even the sound of the ocean on the 2012 series sounds real and not a child's bath tub. :p

Adam Went

Apr 28, 2003
Ah, my apologies, I was referring to the 1996 mini-series with Catherine Zeta-Jones, etc etc. That kind of got overshadowed by Cameron's film in 1997 but then the mini-series, IMO, wasn't very good anyway. As for the 2012 one, i've yet to see it in full so cannot comment!

Cheers,
Adam.

Mar 12, 2011