The court's jurisdiction

B

Bunky

My apologies if this has already been posted. I'm new here - I looked around a bit and didn't see anything. I thought I saw some questions as to how the court was able to exercise jurisdiction over the wrecksite. I'm not an attorney, but I am a law student. I hope this helps.

The District Court is exercising constructive in rem jurisdiction over the wrecksite. In rem jurisdiction allows a court to adjudicate the rights of all claimants to a specific piece of property. They are exercising this jurisdiction based on items that have been salvaged from the wreck and that are now within the Court's judicial district. So, why are they exercising CONSTRUCTIVE in rem jurisdiction? Because, as the Court points out, it would be impossible to bring the entire shipwreck within its judicial district. The Court first exercised this constructive in rem jurisdiction over the wreck in 1992 - this was reaffirmed on August 27, 1993 when R.M.S. Titanic, Inc. (hereafter referred to as RMST) presented a wine decanter, taken from the wrecksite, to the Court. Because portions of the in rem Defendant (in this case, the Titanic itself) would be within the judicial district during the action (the hearing), the Court, pursuant to Admiralty Rule C(2) could exercise jurisdiction. The Court has in rem jurisdiction over the actual artifacts within its judicial district and CONSTRUCTIVE in rem jurisdiction over the shipwreck (which, of course, is outside of the Court's judicial district). Haver, who is a party opposing RMST in this specific case, claims that the Court only has jurisdiction over the wine decanter. The Court explains, however, that they have in personam jurisdiction (which means they have jurisdiction over "the person" - in this case, RMST) and that, if they wanted to, they could order RMST to bring all of the artifacts within the Court's judicial district.