The Duties of a Staff Captain and a Marine Superintendent

Seumas

Mar 25, 2019
Glasgow, Scotland
I was wondering if any merchant navy experts could enlighten me as I am curious .....

What exactly are daily duties and responsibilities of a ship's Staff Captain and a companies Marine Superintendent ?

Thank You.

Scott Mills

Jul 10, 2008
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
I was wondering if any merchant navy experts could enlighten me as I am curious .....

What exactly are daily duties and responsibilities of a ship's Staff Captain and a companies Marine Superintendent ?

Thank You.
I am no expert, but I believe on modern cruise ships, the staff captain is the man or woman in charge of all of the non-merchant navy staff. So everyone from the hospitality staff to the laundry staff. I also believe that the staff captain is the primary captain--not that the captain of the vessel does not also engage in this too--person who interfaces with the passengers.

Seumas

Mar 25, 2019
Glasgow, Scotland
Thank you kindly for that. Much appreciated.

I should have worded my original post much better - I was wondering more about what a Staff Captain and a Marine Superintendent's jobs involved in they heyday of the ocean liners.

Scott Mills

Jul 10, 2008
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Thank you kindly for that. Much appreciated.

I should have worded my original post much better - I was wondering more about what a Staff Captain and a Marine Superintendent's jobs involved in they heyday of the ocean liners.