Thomas Andrews' engagement ring.

Kate Powell

May 27, 2020
UK
Hi everyone,

I'm Kate and I'm new to Encyclopedia Titanica - it's very nice to meet you all!

I got interested in Titanic again recently after re-watching the movies and was so excited to find your space here.
You've gathered so much information together and I'm really enjoying reading your posts and discussions - I'll be kept busy for a long time.

I'm particularly interested in the life of Thomas Andrews, Titanic's chief designer/shipbuilder and I'm currently reading his biography by Shan F. Bullock.
Any information you'd like to share I'd be most interested in hearing as I really only know a little about him from the movies.

Also would like to know if anyone can shed any light on what happened to the sapphire engagement ring in Mr Andrew's family after the auction?
I found this article online and I've been wondering since if the ring went to a museum. I guess I'm curious to know it's final sale value too.

Thanks so much for reading and best wishes to all,

Kate.

Feb 27, 2020
Scotland
Hi Kate!

I've wondered the same thing, about the engagement ring. Couldn't seem to find any info about it online so I gave up in the end. If anyone here could shed any light on the fate of the ring, I'd be interested to know too.